Student senator elected for University College

Sara Payo, a first-year Penn State Greater Allegheny student in the Division of Undergraduate Studies, has been elected to serve as one of the two 2012-13 student senators representing University College at the University Faculty Senate. The announcement was made recently by Nancy L. Herron, associate dean for academic programs, Office of the Vice President for Commonwealth Campuses.

The University Faculty Senate (UFS) is the representative body of Penn State's faculty with legislative authority on all matters pertaining to the educational interests of the University and all educational matters that concern the faculties of more than one college. In addition, the senate is recognized by the University as an advisory and consultative body to the president on all matters that may affect the attainment of the University's educational objectives.
UFS student senators are full-time degree students from among the 14 campuses comprising University College. Student senators are full voting members, and each student senator serves as a member of one of the standing committees. Student senators are expected to attend the six full senate meetings during the year and to participate on the assigned committee.